Lemon Sour Cream Rainbow Cake!

My sister turned 10 about a month ago, but it took until last Tuesday for us to actually have her birthday party. About 13 small girls, my parents and the boyfriend and I headed off to Laserstrike but there was a special request to make a laser strike cake. I had no idea what to do for it, and had very little time to do it, so what resulted was a rainbow cake with fondant icing and lollies stuck on it like a maze. But it went down well with the kids?

The recipe was just the one from the Edmonds Cookbook, but to make it a rainbow cake I doubled the mixture and then separated it into three bowls which I coloured with food colouring. It’s slightly time consuming because you have to cook each layer separately and unless you have three identical cake tins it’s a mission. But then after I just stacked them up, with Jam in between (I think Lemon Curd would have been amazing though) and then covered it with a simple butter icing and marshmallow fondant. Yum!

And I kicked everyone’s butts at laser strike.
About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Edible and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

