The Old Church

20120112-113217.jpg

20120112-113236.jpg

20120112-113328.jpg

20120112-113417.jpg

20120112-113439.jpg

20120112-113508.jpg

20120112-113558.jpg

20120112-113623.jpg

20120112-113849.jpg

I’m finally back in Auckland after three weeks of on and off holiday. I have to say, I’m not that excited about it but I have lots to post from the Hawkes Bay. On Monday, my grandfather turned 70 and to celebrate the family all headed to The Old Church. The Old Church was formerly St Mary’s Catholic Church. It was deconsecrated in 1972 and has since become a Vineyard/ Restaurant. I didn’t know much about it prior to arriving but what we found was incredible, as you can see above in the photos. The food was phenomenal. For my entree I had Butter Poached Chicken Terrine with Wild Mushroom and Walnut Salad, my main was, Pan Seared John Dory with Canneloni of Paddle Crab and Presse of White Anchovy and Tomato and for dessert my mother and I shared White Chocolate Mousse with Strawberries and Meringue. It was a really great day shared with great food, great people, beautiful surroundings and great wine. The prices were also quite reasonable, starting at $17 for entrees and hovering between $28 and $38 for mains. I would definitely recommend it if you ever get the opportunity.

Oh and an honorable mention is definitely the cocktails, I had a Hendrick’s Fizz which was delicious and made from Hendrick’s gin, lemon juice, a tiny bit of sugar syrup and topped with soda. Another table favorite however was the Raspberry Mojito Royale, this was mint leaves, limes and puréed raspberries, muddled with Havana Club Blanco topped with Grandin Methode Traditionale. Amazing.

On Monday I’m back to work but I’ve got heaps more photos to share. I think I’ll have to post a holiday food collection.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Edible and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

