Bruschetteria!

20120118-094326.jpg

20120118-094249.jpg

20120118-094256.jpg

20120118-094303.jpg

20120118-094309.jpg

20120118-094317.jpg
Okay, I know what some of you may be thinking, oh wow, this is becoming a food blog?? And hmph, I had wanted to break it up a little but this being my first week back at work and it being January, well eating is all I’ve got for you. I promise I’ll get a bit more diversity in here soon.

So to the point, last night the boyfriend and I decided to have dinner at Elliot Stables. They describe themselves as an Epicurean Village and offer a range of tastes from Spanish Tapas and Vegan Whole Foods to Traditional Japanese and French Crepes. We settled on a place called Bruschetteria, an Italian Antipasto and Apertivo Bar.

‘Bruschetteria is simple Italian fare with our signature meal of genuine bruschetta. We take specially crafted bread, grilled and garnished with quality olive oil, rubbed lovingly with garlic, then topped with the freshest produce in various Italian combinations.’

Sounds good right? It’s a place we’ve always walked past and when we spotted a sign reading, $45 for Bruschetta, Crostini and two glasses of wine, well we were sold.

On approaching the bar we were greeted by one of the waitresses, she was friendly and provided great service throughout the night. Although a couple of our choices were lacking in ingredients, she provided us alternatives and in the end we were happy to leave it completely up to the kitchens, as long as we got ham.

The kitchen’s creation soon arrived and was delicious, we had Feta, Champagne Ham, Artichokes and Basil Bruschetta (Apologies but slackly I haven’t noted down the names of anything) and Salami, Balsamic Soaked Mushrooms and Coriander Crostini all eased down with a nice glass of red.

I can’t say enough how much I enjoyed this place, I wouldn’t strictly call it a restaurant, it’s more an up market food court but it’s definitely worth the effort and the dosh. I’d recommend it for dates as it feels casual but a bit special at the same time.

I can’t wait to try the other places!

Elliot Stables is located on Elliot St in Auckland CBD.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Edible, What I did and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

