Back to School

I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t feel like the year has really started until I’m back at uni. Weird maybe, considering that it’s nearly March, but you get what I mean right? It’s back to routine time, to having to use your brain, getting things actually done and finally getting away from the horrid full time summer job. Over the next week I’ll be posting a few things like this to help you into the gear of things. Because, the beginning of a new semester may mean getting back into the grind, but it also offers an opportunity for a bit of an accessory refreshment.

No matter what you’re doing at uni/ school, you’re going to need a bag. What kind of bag is more dependent on your style and what you’re going to be carrying around. For me this usually is an iPad, cellphone, camera, book, notebook and various random make up supplies and snacks. I wanted a big and colourful handbag, and so I’ve ordered the Bright Bowler Bag from ASOS (see no.7 below), but on the way to deciding on this bag I went through a lot of other ideas, some cheap, some more expensive.

123456789 

After looking at all of these I may have to look into that ALDO floral back pack as well though. Eek.

Another big aspect of your life this year will be your electronic items, if you’re anything like me, you’re going to want something that pops out and gives you something to smile about over the course of the day. I don’t carry my actual lap top around with me very often so I’ve purchased the Fiorelli leather lap top case (no. 13). But I think that the Toffee Satchel (no. 15) is quite a cool little laptop bag and the Forever New iPad Case (no. 1) also has a pen and note pad inside it – handy.

I’ve heard amazing things about the logitech iPad keyboards (no. 12) and how cute is that key chain (it’s also a usb!)

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16

Finally stationary, an accessory that so many people seem to completely ignore meaning that they’re the ones who have to borrow paper and pens in class, are constantly buying pens at UBS when they’ve forgotten them and never being able to take notes during class. Personally, I love stationary, so this is my favourite part. One of my favourite stores is Kikki. K, they’re an Australian company, designed by a woman of Swedish origin making their products clean and attractive. I find their note taking post its (no. 1) indispensable and their pens (no. 4) are fantastic to write with (and you can buy ink refills). A moleskine is also a must. I know they’re kind of expensive but trust me, you’ll be itching to take notes with one of these babies. I’m waiting for the lego one below to come out in stores. Isn’t it awesome?

Also, something to note is that Gordon Harris does student discounts, but you have to ask and have your id ready. There’s a store on Symonds St, but the Newmarket store is so so so much better. And sign up to Kikki. K’s mailing list, they have quite frequent secret sales.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Finally don’t buy all your books straight away, go to the classes and gauge how much you’ll actually be using them, because in many cases it’s much cheaper to just get it out from the library for that one time you use it. Also, don’t buy your books from UBS or similar if you can possibly help it. The Book Depository tends to have amazing prices and does free shipping, but it’s worth while cross referencing between UBS, The Book Depository and Amazon etc.

With a few new bits and pieces starting a new year becomes all the more exciting and if you buy online that means packages! (And who doesn’t love door step surprises.)

Enjoy!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Guide to and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to School

  1. lei says:

    I’m in LOVE with Kikki. K – and I looove stationery. I wish I could buy everything in Kikki. K , but have to settle for Typo sometimes haha.

    • madicattt says:

      I’ve never properly looked into Typo I have to admit – mainly because my shopping is now so planned out (student budget haha) but I have seen some of their fairy lights floating around online so I think I should. :)

I don't bite, comment here

