M&M Pool Cake


Last Wednesday, my friend Curtis and his twin Lauren turned five, twenty years after their actual birth. If you’re a bit confused – they’re Leap Day babies meaning that they only have their real birthday once every four years. I have a bit of a thing for birthdays, and Wednesday is Curtis and I’s most heinous day at uni, so I decided to make him a 5th birthday cake. (I should probably put in here that this cake is totally unoriginal in concept, I stole the idea from @paulbrislen)

It looks flash but it’s pretty easy when it gets down to it. All you’ll need as shown above is a Chocolate cake, icing, m&m’s and some kit kats.
If you want to use my Chocolate Cake recipe it’s a bit of a go as you feel/ taste manoeuvre based on the Edmond’s Chocolate Cake recipe but with a couple of extras.

To make it:

  • Beat together butter, sugar, vanilla essence, once creamy beat in eggs.
  • Sift together dry ingredients.
  • Stir in coffee, and sour cream/ yoghurt/ milk. Use some intuition here – you want it to be like a soup, thick but fluid, not too runny.

Oven it at 180 for an hour.

Then it’s just a matter of decorating it. Instead of carefully icing it, I just poured the whole bowl of icing on top of the cake and evened it out so that the whole cake was covered. I then went around the outside edge and pressed in the kit kat halves. Finally for the M&M’s I just grabbed handfuls and pushed them into the cake. I used a combination of crispy and original M&M’s for a bit of variation.

Done!

It ended out pretty good, pretty good meaning that for once I actually ate something I baked. (I love baking, but I don’t actually like baking very much.. weird I know.)

The birthday boy and his cake!

If you try it out, I’d love to see/hear about the results. Enjoy!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Edible and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

