Sunny study days

Isn’t the weather beautiful at the moment? In Auckland the days have been sunny, clear and crisp, leading me to thoughts of walking along wild beaches out west, running through the domain bare foot and visiting the Zoo. Knowing how things go, come next Wednesday the weather will have turned and it will be back to grim, grey, wintery days.

I’ve spent the past couple of days studying from home. Currently I’m taking a quick break from studying for my exam on Saturday. I love working from home, a desk to myself, surrounded by white walls, and random things, the cat harrassing me and the dog begging me to play ball.

Yesterday it was so much warmer and beautiful outside that I took a wee break to indulge them. Griff sunbathed in the garden beds, while Ruby and I played ball. Ruby was very happy with the situation.

Throw it for me? Pwwweeeease?

On a very very unrelated topic, today everyone has been complaining about Shelley Bridgeman. To be honest I’d hoped before reading it that it was truly scandalous, but it’s just normal Bridgeman nonsense. Seriously if that women can write for the NZ Herald, anyone off the street should be able to. But to the point, I had a skim through the comments (guilty pleasure) and found this great quote. Everyone seems to be so quick to criticise courses that aren’t directly translatable to a job. But really, in my book having a few that broaden and deep your ways of thinking can take you a bit farther than ‘Applied Epidemiology’ ick.

“We’ve bought into the idea that education is about training and “success”, defined monetarily, rather than learning to think critically and to challenge. We should not forget that the true purpose of education is to make minds, not careers. A culture that does not grasp the vital interplay between morality and power, which mistakes management techniques for wisdom, which fails to understand that the measure of a civilization is its compassion, not its speed or ability to consume, condemns itself to death.”
– Chris Hedges,

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in What I did and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

