On the Road: Bohemian Rhapsody

20120705-172623.jpg

I’m currently sitting shotgun, cruising at one hundred k’s an hour towards Otaki, belting my lungs out to David Bowie’s Space Oddity. My mother’s driving and my sister is attempting to make stop motions on her ds, whilst the other one snoozes. We’ve been driving since 9 am (it’s currently 5) and we’re about 66 songs through a 93 song playlist.

It’s the playlist that I want to talk about. Pretty early on in the journey we decided that we would need a playlist of belters to keep us awake for the drive. Cue David Bowie, Amy Winehouse, Queen, Radiohead, Adele, Florence and the Machine, Violent Femmes – you get the picture. A few minutes ago though, as Bohemian Rhapsody reared it’s beautiful head it popped into mind how there are those songs that as a family, or as a group of friends, as a couple etc etc that you bond over and can (with no prompting necessary) just belt out, full bore, no hesitations.

I think it’s pretty cool, especially when your family songs happen to be others family’s songs (hey there Bohemian Rhapsody). So you know what? Here’s a snapshot of driving with my mother and I. (What I’d really like to do is post a spotify playlist, but as I’m typing this on my phone – no can do, expect an update when I get back to civilization >.<)

Young Americans – David Bowie
Valerie – Amy Winehouse & Mark Ronson
Space Oddity – David Bowie
Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
Blister in the Sun – Violent
Just – Radiohead
Paranoid Android – Radiohead
Ziggy Stardust – David Bowie
Queen Bitch – David Bowie
Someone Like You – Adele
Drive – Bic Runga
Cry Me A River – Michael Buble
Jesus Walking on the Water – Violent Femmes
The Lovecats – The Cure
The Fear – Lily Allen
Don't Speak – No Doubt
Kiss Off – Violent Femmes
Creep – Radiohead
Ready or Not – The Fugees
Kooks – David Bowie

Do you guys have songs that are surefire family hits? Or even better, how many of you can recite Bohemian Rhapsody – word for word.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road: Bohemian Rhapsody

  1. Great songs. Meatloaf’s Paradise by the Dashboard Light and Two Out of Three were some songs I’d belt out to with my Dad on the drive to and from Kaikoura.

  2. izzyfizzydizzy says:

    Hahahaha

I don't bite, comment here

