Isaacs Winter Cider

20120706-112142.jpg

20120706-112215.jpg

20120706-112223.jpg

If you’ve followed me on twitter for a while you may have noticed that I have a bit of a thing for cider. Particularly of the berry variety. I’d never really drunk cider until the past summer, but something finally clicked and well… My twitter feed could have been mistaken for a Macs ad for a bit there.

These days I’m a pretty big cider fan, particularly Berry, particularly Old Mout/ Macs. (Never Monteiths, ugh) It seems that there may be a few of us cider fans out there though because this winter both Old Mout and Macs have released a winter cider. Are they fighting for my affections? If so, then please don’t stop. I’m not half satisfied yet.

So far I haven’t been able to track down the Old Mout Winter Cider, (fingers crossed Otaki New World can indulge me) Macs however, was an easy steal and we’ve been having a bit of an affair.

The Isaacs Winter Cider is described as being flavored as a tart blackcurrant and sweet manuka honey. They suggest serving it either over ice or heated with a stick of cinnamon. Now, I haven’t tried it with cinnamon, but I have tried it both cold and heated and I am definitely a fan. They advise not heating it in the bottle so I’ve just been pouring it into a glass and microwaving it for a minute. You don’t want it hot, just warm. Once you put it to your lips, it’s incredible. Zingy and fizzy and beautiful. Have you ever tried those magical elves chocolates? Imagine that tingling feeling briefly on your lips. Mmm.

All up I’m a big fan. It’s definitely not a big booze up beverage, but on those colder nights, wrapped up in a blanket, in front of the Telly or fire with a warm, strong, cuddly man – perfect. You can pick it up in a six pack from bottle stores (it was in sale at Glengarry’s when I bought it for $13 something when I bought it) or in some bars – obviously a Macs Brewbar would be a good starting point.

Also a final note – I just want to give a big shout out to my lovely friend Anya who is having her 21st tonight. I am so sorry that I can’t make it (bit of a distance issue and a bit of date fucking up on my part) but I hope that you have the best night and look absolutely stunning! Happy Birthday lovely!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isaacs Winter Cider

  1. Pingback: Beer – #43 – Old Mout – Pear Scrumpy – it’s not a beer! | Pdubyah

I don't bite, comment here

