Old Mout Hot Berry Cider

20120711-093122.jpg

20120711-093115.jpg

20120711-093129.jpg

In my last post I gushed about Mac’s Isaacs Winter Cider. I said it once and I’ll say it again, it’s a damn good beverage. You may have also noticed however that I mentioned that I’d been searching for the Old Mout Hot Berry Cider. With some excitement (and a bit of double look) I finally found a few bottles in the Otaki New World. Since it’s new it is being stocked at selected New Worlds/ Pak n Save. A word of advice though, if you’re in the supermarket it won’t be beside the rest of the ciders in the fridge, I found it amongst the reds.

Old Mout’s Hot Berry Cider is quite different from Isaac’s Winter Cider. But in a good way. While Isaac’s tastes all zingy and blackcurranty, the Hot Berry is very similar to Old Mout’s Boysencider (which I’d describe as tasting a bit like boysenberry ripple ice cream, mmm.) On the website, Old Mout describe the Hot Berry as tasting of full ripe, juicy berries combined with a slight granny smith apple pucker and a hint of spice and citrus. I think that’s pretty on form. Whilst the Boysencider has a deep rich berry taste to it, the Hot Berry is a bit lighter and tarter which cuts through the sweetness quite nicely.

I enjoyed the Hot Berry heated in a mug in the microwave for 40 seconds, tucked inside by the fire while we were down in Palliser Bay. Being in Palliser (one word – seals, more on this later) we were pretty isolated and I didn’t have many extra bits on hand, I can tell you truthfully though that it was pretty damn delicious all the same. Next time will be a different story though as I plan to fully deck out the serving suggestions. They recommend serving it alongside winter roasts, or beside cheeses (good idea) and suggest adding a few spices such as a cinnamon stick or vanilla pod, grated nutmeg or ginger, cloves, bay leaves. You get the picture. Utter wintery indulgence.

All in all, I’m a big fan of these winter ciders. You can pick up the Old Mout Hot Berry for about $9 and it comes in a 1.25l bottle. If I’ll be honest, I don’t think that I could pick a winner. There’s something innately classier about Old Mout to me and I think I may buy a few bottles to hide away for when I feel like something warm and soothing. But the Isaac’s is probably a bit more readily available for me (as I don’t live near a New World or Pak n Save).

And on a final note, I may have suggested to Old Mout that they release a Winter Cold Cider – Lemon, Ginger and Honey. One can hope right?

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Mout Hot Berry Cider

  1. Pingback: Things that are GOOD Friday: 17 | madicattt

  2. Pingback: Beer – #43 – Old Mout – Pear Scrumpy – it’s not a beer! | Pdubyah

I don't bite, comment here

