Clinique Chubby Stick

 

I read a lot of beauty blogs, and every now and then (aka all the time) there’ll be a product that becomes blogger famous. Think Caudalie Beauty Elixir, Phillip Kingsley Hair Elasticiser, the Real Techniques Core Collection, Models Own nail polishes, the list goes on. Sadly, as the majority of beauty bloggers I follow are UK based, it’s often quite hard to actually get your hands on the products in New Zealand. Luckily for us Kiwi’s, the product of the moment has just launched in the country.

Following Revlon’s Lip Butter’s, the Clinique Chubby Stick is a moisturising tinted lip balm. Made with Mango and Shea Butters, the Clinique Chubby Stick claims to be just what dry, delicate lips need to feel comfortably soft and smooth.

Coming in a crayon form, there are 16 colours available to choose from. The range is fantastic giving options for most skin tones and preferences and I swatched about 10 of them before zoning in the no. 15, Pudgy Peony. (How could I resist?)

Pudgy Peony is a deep pink, that is almost magenta in tone. On me it looks a bit like I’ve been eating berries, it’s a deep rich pink that leans more towards cooler shades, which is perfect for my skin tone. It’s a shade that suggests ‘my lips but better, and in full contrast and high definition.’

At $40 a pop they’re quite pricey but what you’re getting is worth it. My lips felt deeply nourished and after a week or two of total neglect they are now smooth and soft (with no dry skin threatening to flake off).

The colour stay factor is pretty impressive as well. A couple of applications lasted me a long night of drinking and eating on Saturday night, and when I woke up the next morning my lips were still rosy and bright.

While a lot of these types of products are mostly hype and brand whoring, the Clinique Chubby Stick is a product that I would genuinely promote. While it definitely helps that the packaging is beautiful and that you get the shiny Clinique label, it’s a product that makes your lips look and feel amazing. I can’t see myself wearing anything else for the next wee while.

(sorry M.A.C, sorry Loreal.)

You can pick a Chubby Stick up for $40 from stockists of Clinique. I bought mine from the Clinique stall in St Lukes, they are also available at Smith and Caugheys.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Clinique Chubby Stick

  1. Are they $40?! Christ, I’m glad I bought mine when I was in the states, it was literally half the price.

    • madicattt says:

      Sadly yes, it’s pretty standard for the type of brand it is, but it’s so annoying seeing how cheap they are in the states. It doesn’t even translate when you convert it! sigh.

  2. 91dwntwn says:

    Hey Madi!! Girls from the ridges blog! Thanks for the shout out in your previous post. Do you have an email we can get you at?

  3. Pingback: August | madicattt

  4. Pingback: Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm | saveonproducts

I don't bite, comment here

