The iPad is not just a giant iPhone: Note taking for Uni

I use my iPad for pretty much everything when it comes to uni and so when I started to write this post I thought that it would be fine to talk about all the apps I use for uni at once. Then I realized that that was crazy. So its going to be a two (maybe three) parter. This post is on note taking but I’ll also be talking about the apps I use for readings and studying and some other handy tricks in later posts.

20130307-165005.jpg
Evernote
Evernote is the app I use most frequently for uni, it is a multi operating system friendly program that synchronizes online across devices. This is perfect for uni because it allows you to access your uni notes from anywhere – whether it be on a main laptop or desk top computer, on a smart phone or iPad/ tablet or on the net. You can either access your saved notes online or via the free to download application.

Within Evernote you create notes which you can then file into notebooks. There are basic formatting options and the ability to insert pictures, tag posts and take audio recordings. You can also save PDFs from the net to your Evernote notebooks.

20130307-173144.jpg
I generally create a notebook per paper and then a new note for every lecture/ tutorial. If there are graphs or useful pictures in the lecture slides then I will take screen shots (you can screen shot by holding down the home and lock buttons) and then insert them into the note amongst my own notes.

The useful thing about Evernote is that it’s a great way to keep all your notes, readings, recordings etc in the same place. You can’t really lose your work because it’s all saved in the cloud as well as on your devices.

20130307-173743.jpg
Penultimate
Penultimate is a free to download app owned by Evernote and operates in a similar way. Again you have notebooks but this app is all about writing, like proper writing/ drawing/ scribbles using either your finger or a stylus. You have the opportunity to choose the size of your pen tip, the colour of your ink and the type of paper in your notebook. It’s great for if you want to have your notes saved online but dislike typing. It’s also great if you need to brainstorm things or draw something. So far this semester I’ve been preferring Penultimate to take notes in class but being part of the Evernote family it uses the same account therefore allowing your Penultimate notebooks to be accessible via Evernote.

20130307-174545.jpg
MyScript Notes
MyScript Notes is an app that’s quite new to me but I couldn’t help but include it. So far I’m playing around with the free version – MyScript Notes Memo as the full app costs $10.99 but it’s quite promising. MyScript Notes is an app that converts hand written notes to text. It’s fairly responsive and accurate to my illegible scrawling and perfect for when you want to write something by hand but really need it typed up. Nerdy excitement right?!

Hopefully these posts are proving helpful! If there’s anything that you specifically want to know then just leave a comment below!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Guide to and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The iPad is not just a giant iPhone: Note taking for Uni

  1. a says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking
    into starting my own blog and was curious what all is
    required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any tips or
    advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos

I don't bite, comment here

