Auckland Arts Festival

20130311-131232.jpg

20130311-131239.jpg

20130311-131244.jpg

For Fashion Bloggers Fashion Week is one of the most important times of year, for Movie Reviewers it’s Film Festival and Awards Season. For me, my favourite time of year is Arts Festival time.

The Auckland Arts Festival kicked off last week with a flurry of shows and exhibitions across the city. If you’ve been wondering what the huge fireworks display at the Domain was all about then look no further, that was Groupe F putting on Breath of the Volcano. Similarly, if you’ve been wondering what all the stuff in Aotea Square is about then that’s the Festival Garden Bar.

It was while sitting in the Garden Bar last night (sipping on a yummy IceBar Mojito) that I realised that not everyone may know that the Festival is actually on.

So here’s a heads up – The Auckland Arts Festival runs until the 24th of March and features 60 events over 19 days. This includes theatre, live music, dance, circus and visual arts. Most events cost money but some are free! (YAY!) You can have a look at what’s on at the festival website here.

Speaking of free, the Festival Garden Bar is free entry to all meaning you can cruise on in and have a drink, listen to some music, have a bite to eat maybe. Ripe Deli is providing the food which is amazing and really well priced, while one of the bars is serving IceBar Co cocktails. I had a ‘Muriwai Mojito’ made from the lemon and lime iceblock last night and it was delicious!

So far I’ve only been to two shows – Breath of the Volcano and The Factory but I’ve got plenty to add to my wishlist – En Route and Hui are two of my picks so far! And if you want to see me do some singing, I’m performing at 4:40 pm this Saturday (the 17th) as part of ATC’s AUT Dominion Rd Stories.

Throughout the festival I’ll posting my reviews of things I’ve been to here but I’d really like to hear if people have enjoyed things so that I can add them to my list!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Auckland Arts Festival, Go There (Or Not), Guide to and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

