Whoopie Cakes

DSC00446DSC00445

Technically I’m not supposed to eat wheat or dairy… or a few things really (IBS problems)  but this past week I have been absolutely obsessing over Whoopie Cakes. Soft, moist, absolutely mouth wateringly beautiful Whoopie Cakes. Then my friend Rebecca started talking about Cake Pops and I was totally ruined. There was still a little bit of hope left for my poor stomach though and that was the fact that the only store was in Grey Lynn.

Then a Newmarket store opened and it was all over.

The desire of my taste buds were talking a bit more loudly then the desires of my stomach bacteria and so on Saturday afternoon I popped into the new Whoopie Cake store in Nuffield st.

Tucked into a tiny shop I actually walked past it at first but once I spotted it I found the usual Whoopie Cake set up – an array of full sized cakes, a row of mini cakes and cake pops galore plus popcorn, a coffee machine and a menu of Whoopie Cake smoothies.

I picked up a Gorgeous cake which is essentially a giant Ginger Kiss – but better and a few cake pops to share around.

While Whoopie Cakes may be a bit on the luxurious side price wise – if I was going to eat a cake, it would be this. (My next pick is going to have to Mighty – Mint Chocolate!!!)

If you want to quench your Whoopie Cake desires for yourself then head along to Nuffield St or 2a Hakanoa St, Grey Lynn!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whoopie Cakes

  1. I frigging love whoopie pies! They are so delicious, much prefer them over cupcakes, yum yum! I love the store, I haven’t been in there myself, but I will definitely go in next time I’m in Auckland, I’m in love with their menu board!!!

I don't bite, comment here

