Benefit Basics

20130820-235127.jpgA couple of months ago Benefit opened in New Zealand and I was lucky enough to pop along to the bloggers bash they put on. I’ve desired Benefit products for a while and the opportunity to play with everything just won me over even more. At the end of the night we were sent home with goody bags containing the They’re Real Mascara and Porefessional Primer. Since then I have also popped in store for a brow wax and picked up a bottle of the Hello Flawless! Oxygen Wow Foundation. You could say I’m a fan.

Since I’ve been using these products for a fair while now I thought I’d share my thoughts – was my obsession warranted by the actual products? Well…

The They’re Real Mascara is definitely my favourite product of the bunch. Without fail it elongates and defines each and every eye lash and has quickly won a place as one of the best mascaras I have ever used. It’s been a few months since I first opened it now and the consistency is still perfect, it isn’t flaking or giving me eye issues. At $43 it isn’t too pricy either. I will definitely be rebuying this.

The Porefessional was the product that I was the most excited for and to be honest nearly three months on I still can’t tell if I like it or not. I’m a fan of a dewy natural finish and usually really buff my foundation in. The Porefessional leaves a silky finish across the skin which makes for a great application but I’m not sure if I’m sold – maybe I’m just not a primer girl? I will say I’ve been impressed by the longevity however. From the outside the tube looks quite small but this product goes a long way.

Last but not least let’s talk about Hello Flawless! Oxygen WowI’ll be honest and for me this product has been a huge disappointment. It started when I was mismatched in store, I was matched to Ivory – the lightest shade which technically is very close to my face but makes me look like a ghost against the rest of my skin. Since it’s Winter I’ve been able to keep using it alongside my bronzer but it’s not really the same as having that perfect match. The formula doesn’t really make up for it either.

Edit: Come Summer these products came into their own. Now I’m in love. It helped that I got rematched to Champagne in the foundation (and this is perfect!) and in the Summer months it just all seems to work out. Funny that huh? The formula of both no longer seems to be a problem and I’ve actually been going for my Benefit products over my Smashbox ones.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

