Smashbox

Going to Wicked felt a little bit like going to a ball. Sure, it wasn’t opening night but the promise of the Civic and a jaw dropping musical made me want to dress up a little. Luckily for me I had a bit of luck on my side. The first stroke was the Smashbox seminar where I received a couple of Smashbox $70 makeover vouchers. The second was this dress finally hitting the stores after months of careful observance. I finally spied it the Friday before last and hit the buy button quick as a flash. Using my Unidays discount (check them out if you’re a student) I was able to get express shipping at no extra cost and the dress arrived by the Tuesday!

Fast track to Wicked Day and I had a lovely new dress and a makeover booked. Naughty me but since it was nighttime the lighting was terrible and I didn’t really take any photos…

BUT. I absolutely loved my make up so had to share what got thrown on my face. Up until recently I didn’t really know much about Smashbox but now I am totally hooked. Their formulas are beautiful and the photofinish primer makes everything stay in place like nothing I’ve tried before.

Smashbox Makeover

I had my make over done at the Smashbox Counter in Life Pharmacy St Lukes. The artist was lovely but somehow I missed catching her name (I’m the worst). I did get her to write down what she used though so without further ado, here’s what’s on my face (and my wish list!)

basePhoto Finish Primer followed by Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear and the High Definition Concealer. On top of this she used the Halo Hydrating Perfecting Powder.

face details – I like a bit of contour in my life, she used Bronze Lights in Sunkissed Matte as a contour and Baked Fusion Soft Lights to highlight. For a blush she used the shade Paradise.

eyes – I asked for a red lip so we went for a soft goldy brown smokey eye on the lid. The shadows used came from the Photo Op Trio in Screenshot which includes the shades Nectar, Cinnamon and Toast as well the Limitless 15 Hour Cream Eye Shadow in Topaz. On top of this went a slim flick of Jet Set Eye Liner and Full Exposure Mascara. The brows were not forgotten using Brow Tech To Go in Brunette.

lips – Last but not least came the red lip. We were a bit sneaky and used a Revlon Colour Stay lip liner in Red but the lipstick was all Smashbox taking the form of the Be Legendary lipstick in Matte Infrared. I couldn’t leave without taking something with me and it was this product that won out.

Smashbox Matte Infrared

This lipstick is the bomb. It’s matte but not the slightest bit drying, stays on like a glove for your lips and is incredibly pigmented. I didn’t have to top up my lipstick once over the course of the night and actually gave myself a fright when I wore it to work the other day and realised it hadn’t shifted a bit. It is amazing. And the colour? Beautiful. A deep magenta toned red. Perfect.

Smashbox has gone from being not even a blip on my radar to totally taking over. The night of Wicked my make up just sat there, flawless all night. I couldn’t even take it off for bed because it was too pretty. I cannot praise them enough.

I’m sorry MAC, someone else may be taking your place on my make up table…

 

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smashbox

  1. Sigourney says:

    Hmmmm, Do you think the primer will work with other foundation brands. I’ve been disappointed in my MAC primer thus far.

    • madicattt says:

      I’ve used it with other foundations and it works just as well. Tbh though Smashbox is outdoing Mac for me atm all round (also they’re cruelty free which is nice whereas Mac isn’t). I reckon you should look into their stuff!

I don't bite, comment here

