Miss Clawdy

IMG_3715I don’t know how it’s happened. I’m taking less papers than I have in years this semester, but somehow the course load is extreme. Perhaps my inner perfectionist has fully blossomed, perhaps it actually is the course load but somehow I am slammed. Ergo why this post, technically devoured over a month ago is only surfacing now.

So Miss Clawdy I apologise for my tardiness in sending you a thank you card for your succulent wares but let me hop to sharing with the world why I enjoyed eating at your premises.

IMG_3717

Joining the likes of Mexico and Tyler St Garage (amongst others), Miss Clawdy’s is a Creole take on the small plates fad which has slowly been taking over Auckland’s downtown. I’m a big fan of the small plate. I’ve said this before but I hate having to choose *my own* meal. I’d rather share and pick at everything and the small plate is perfect for this style of eating.

I headed down to Miss Clawdy’s with Adam and Ali after last months #SMCAKL. Technically we shouldn’t have been very hungry but I wanted to see what Miss Clawdy’s was all about so we went, we ate, we drank, we had a great time.

IMG_3721 P1030561

Since we’d already snacked on some pizza we didn’t exactly go to town, but ordered between us a Southern Fried Oyster and Pop Corn Po’ Boys, Southern Fried Jerk Chicken with Chipotle Lime Mayo, Hand Cut Street Fries and Slaw. All of which were divine but if I needed a reason to go back it would be for the fried chicken and hand cut fries. I would have loved to try the desserts but our stomachs being a little bit full decided that, that would be a taste test for another trip. In lieu of desserts we washed it all down with a Wild Berry Iced Tea Cocktail.

The selling point for me about Miss Clawdy’s is how easy it was. We were able to just slip in after eight and enjoy some yummy treats. The decor is nice, the location (North Wharf) makes it a feel a bit special. And with plates costing between $6 – $22, with the average sitting at $14, it doesn’t break the bank.

Miss Clawdy can be found at 12 Jellicoe St, North Wharf, open 7 days a weeks from 11:30am til late. It’s a tasty spot, that I will be visiting again!

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Food Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

