Midsummer

Source: Silo Theatre

Source: Silo Theatre

When I go to a play I want it to make me feel something. I sit there, waiting to be distracted from my analysis of the set and lighting, to stop wondering if the actors are nailing it or just going through the paces. I want it to sweep me up. I want it to move me. 

I’ll say it right now, I very rarely cry or get emotional at plays.

But on Tuesday night, Midsummer tweaked out a single tear.

So let’s talk about Midsummer and how it made me melt. 

Midsummer is Silo Theatre’s final show for 2013. Directed by Sophie Roberts and starring Aidee Walker and Dan Musgrove, Midsummer is that weekend. That weekend where by total chance two people, pretty down on life meet each other and have the time of their lives. It’s the weekend that becomes forever, ‘Remember when…?’ and when what actually happened was so random and so impossible that no one could ever believe that weekend to have actually ever happened. It’s a bender, but it’s a bender where when everything could have gone so hideously wrong, everything went right. It even has a totally not cringe inducing happy ending (hence the single tear). Oh and a tickle me elmo. It’s a story, the story of that weekend and it is beautiful.

Midsummer must be experienced. So let’s talk about the people who make it so beautiful.

First up Aidee and Dan. When it comes to talking about plays I’m generally pretty slack about actually mentioning the actors… (Sorry!) but wow. Midsummer is not an easy, breeze your way through the motions sort of play. It demands energy, it demands total commitment and Aidee and Dan gave it that and more. I mean, there’s skipping involved, running, grumbly angry bosses and the best night ever. Between them they had me giggling hysterically (that sex scene….) but also sitting on the edge of my seat to see what they would do next.

Jane Hakaraia and Rachael Walker front the design team. Rachael Walker has created a sparse set that places you instantly within rainy Edinburgh. Bricks and scribbled notes. Jane Hakaraia’s lighting design fits the space like a glove, giving moments of gloom and rain amongst moments of warmth and romance. Together it’s accurately, perfectly seedy with lots of space for the actors to weave their story. By plays end the stage is a hot mess, money, water, rope.

Did I mention that there’s music? No? Oops. Midsummer has often been described as a play with music. Which quite honestly, the idea makes me cringe. In reality it isn’t too bad. I think that it would have sucked had Aidee and Dan not been so on form throughout the show, but those two are stars meaning that in some moments, the music arranged by Abe Kunin was deliciously perfect. If we were watching another production, I’m not sure if I’d say the same thing.

Midsummer is beautiful and is the perfect end to what has been a pretty damn on form season from Silo Theatre. Silo always brings it and consistently wows me. This production is no different. If you’re a theatre novice looking for a play to dip your toes in, this is a great option. There’s laughter, tears, even my Dad thought it was lovely. Sophie Roberts has truly done an incredible job.

Midsummer runs in the Loft at Q Theatre until the 23rd of November.
GO SEE IT.
Ticket information is available here.

Silo Theatre Midsummer

(SOPHIE ROBERTS FOR SILO ARTISTIC DIRECTOR!) 

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Theatre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Midsummer

  1. Kelsey says:

    I recently saw this at Circa Theatre with The Boyfriend. We were both utterly blown away by the level of stamina that actors had – such an energetic show and they stayed on form throughout!! A fabulous review by you, as well :)

    thetaranakigirl.blogspot.com xx

  2. Pingback: The Best of Theatre 2013 | madicattt

I don't bite, comment here

