Christmas is Coming: Sweet and Spicy Nuts

Sweet and Spicy Nuts | Christmas is Coming

I’m a bit of a sucker for flavoured nuts. New World has an amazing array of them from Maple Walnut Cashews to Vanilla Almonds to Tamari Almonds and Lime and Chilli Cashews. My absolute favourite were the Salt and vinegar almonds but now I cannot seem to find them anywhere! So I decided to make my own, which if I will be totally honest was a bit of a fail. Not a total fail, just not really successful.

However Christmas is Coming so along side my S&V Almonds, I thought I’d wiggle my fingers at making some sweet and a little bit Christmassy flavoured nuts. These ones worked. The product of this is the recipe below. Sugary, spicy, flavoured nuts.

As well as good for making yourself totally ill with nutty over dose, I reckon that these nuts would make a mighty fine Christmas treat.

To make 2 cups of delicious sweet and tasty almonds you will need:

  • 2 cups of almonds, raw, not blanched
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 a teaspoon each of ground nutmeg, ground ginger and ground cloves
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 large spoonfuls of water.

Ever a fan of one bowl cooking whisk the egg white and water together before mixing in the rest of the ingredients. Place a sheet of baking paper in the bottom of a roasting dish and pour your mixture on top. Bake at 150 degrees celsius for 30 minutes, stirring and shaking every now and then. Take out to cool. Scoff.

Phew that was brief! Now please excuse me while I go and undo the top button of my pants and lay on the couch in a nut induced food coma.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in It's the Most Wonderful Time of The Year, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas is Coming: Sweet and Spicy Nuts

  1. Pingback: Christmas Note #5: Hot Spicy Toasted Nuts | Reading, Writing, Ranting and Raving

I don't bite, comment here

