You Asked For The Courgette Slice?

20140323-122012.jpg

Otaki is a different pace of life to Auckland. Sure, I’m busy with Māoriland but at the same time there’s less of all the other ‘life’ stuff that I usually find my days bogged down with. Usually my Saturdays disappear on me in a heartbeat. Instead this previous Saturday was a breeze filled up with chatting with my great grandmother and grandmother, baking and a walk on the beach.

Down here everyone kept going on about this ‘courgette slice’. I’d never tried it but with everyone obsessing about it, it wasn’t long til I’d happen to make it. A bbq with my aunt Emily and her friends was the occasion. Being a ring in, I made the slice (also so that I could make it gluten free – win/win).

With home grown mammoth courgettes from Emily’s garden the slice was soon whipped up and snapped for Facebook. I wouldn’t have predicted it but it would seem that you lot like the idea of courgette slice too. So how about a recipe.

1901378_10151881288552924_1318082463_n

You will need:

  • 1/2 cup of Olive oil
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 courgettes grated
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 3 rashers of bacon chopped
  • 1 cup of rice flour
  • 1 cup of grated cheese
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder
  • Salt and pepper to season

Whip up the olive oil and eggs. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Pour into a greased slice tray and bake for 30-40 minutes until puffed and browned.

Phew. That was hard work.

The end result is deliciously light and fluffy and I think would go rather nicely with a tomato relish on the side.

Seeing as I was going to be taking everyone’s favourite dish away for the bbq I followed this up with Rose from The Londoner’s Avocado Chocolate Cookies. Sounds weird, tastes divine.

If you’re in the region you should most definitely pop up for Māoriland! It kicks off on Wednesday and runs til Sunday. We’ve got a wicked line up of films, I’m getting really excited for it!

ALSO if you haven’t already, please like the facebook page for this here blog ! It’s another spot to keep updated with new posts and other random bits and bobs I find interesting in my day to day life.

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

