Clouds of Easter

Last Saturday I woke up with an overwhelming desire for macarons. I blame a flu induced delirium because before reason could have a chance to intervene I was out of bed and beating egg whites. It proved to be quite a strenuous task for my flu riddled body but the results were delicious.

With one successful batch of Macarons down I decided to make a batch to take to work. And with Easter looming why not make hot cross bun flavoured ones?

I used exactly the same recipe as before but added in pinches of mixed spice and dashes of caramel (salted caramel was a must as well). I slid this batch into the oven, one after the over but perhaps was a little over zealous in how much time I gave them. Where my first batch had been quite similar to your standard macaron, my second was more akin to a macaron meets a ginger kiss and you know what? I think I prefer the latter. My work mates compared them to clouds of joy so I think it’s safe to say they were a success.

IMG_6294

So how do we make them?

I followed this recipe from Red with a couple of adaptations – if you want to make clouds rather than macarons then take them out of the oven after 7 rather than 10 minutes – they’ll look firm but won’t have had a chance to crisp up.

If you want to give them a hot cross bun flavour add a teaspoon of mixed spice before piping them onto a tray. Extra for experts tip – plastic zip lock bags with a corner snipped off make a great make do piping bag.

For the fillings I went for butter cream – this is what truly marries macarons with ginger kisses. To whip up a standard butter cream filling I used 100g of softened butter (whipped with an electric beater) mixed with a cup of icing sugar.

For a hot cross bun flavour I added a couple of teaspoons of mixed spice. For a salted caramel flavour I mixed the salted caramel recipe here with the butter cream.

Butter a side of biscuit delicately and generously before sandwiching with another half. The resulting creation is pure morish evilness, aka is delicious. Perfect for the Easter weekend.

 

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

