Comedy Fest Top Picks

I don’t know anything at all about the comedy scene, and I’m also a bit of a hardass when it comes to anything racist/sexist/ dumb. You could say that perhaps I’m a wee bit serious. But, I also think that the NZ Comedy Festival is really fab and last year by some weird twist of fate I found myself selected to be Ticketek’s Official Comedy Festival Blogger.

This means that this year I feel like I have a teeny level of authority to let you know what ‘my picks’ would be, or maybe just what shows I’m interested in seeing. If you think that perhaps you’d find similar things to me amusing, then hey – this may be helpful.

Last year I reviewed four shows – Idiots of Ants, James Nokise, Stephen K Amos and Rose Matafeo.

Of this bunch, James Nokise, Stephen K Amos and Rose Matafeo are all showing again this year. I’m gutted to have missed opening night of Stephen K Amos tonight but we’ll see how many shows I can slip in next week.

james s rose

Click on their faces to read my reviews from last year.

 ‘Nokise has got a talent for seeing the holes and fallacies in the arguments of stupid people and stupid organisations and isn’t afraid to put it all out there. What results is a crowd howling with laughter.’

‘The first nail was that the males name was Roland. ‘Roland?!’ Amos roared? ‘What sort of name is Roland? I’ve never met anyone under 40 who’s name is Roland?!’

It’s a show where you’re led to believe that Rose doesn’t quite know where she’s going with things and that maybe she might just spend the whole time filibusting.’

Please excuse while I kick my former self’s writing style.

Click their names here to get more info about their shows this year – James Nokise, Stephen K Amos, Rose Matafeo.

Other shows I’m looking forward to are Sara Pascoe and Sticks, Stones, Broken Bones. Female comedy + Shadowplay. But like I said, I’m not really clued up on the ins and outs of who’s coming so I’d love a helping hand – who are you looking forward to in this years comedy fest?

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in NZ International Comedy Fest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comedy Fest Top Picks

  1. I adore the Comedy Festival. I usually go to a bunch if shows and the weeks that follow feel like a depression. Looking for award to the Gala on TV. That us a nice guide on who to see, though you have to be quick. If someone kills it at the gala, they will sell out.

I don't bite, comment here

