On Rotation… Bases

Three bases

Never would I have thought that I may become a person to have more than one foundation on the go at any one time. Let alone more than one that I had purchased myself.

Unfortunately, beauty blogging is a cruel mind altering beast. You begin by reading them and slowly your shopping habits change and eventually you become one, finding yourself obsessed with finding the perfect base.

I am reluctant to admit that this is not even my full rotation of bases… but they are the ones I thought worth sharing.

Here’s why –

Estee Lauder’s Double Wear All Day Glow BB Cream*

I’ve already talked about this product here, but in a nutshell this BB Cream has been the only one, ever to tick all the boxes for me.

The Double Wear All Day Glow in 2.0 is a perfect match for my skin providing a slick of lightweight to medium coverage that is barely visible to other people. It is the perfect base for those days when you want a little coverage but don’t feel like looking like you’re wearing make up. Plus it lasts all day, without primer.

It’s SPF 30 and I can already tell that this will be a big favourite come Summer.

RRP// $65

Smashbox High Definition Healthy FX Foundation

I picked up this foundation last year after NZ Fashion Week and it quickly usurped the place of MAC Mineralise (a foundation which had been my number one choice for the previous 5 years). Oil free and SPF 15 this foundation provides dewy but flawless coverage. My only gripe would be that it separated inside the bottle, however this didn’t affect how it went on the fact at all.

Disappointingly this product has since been discontinued. Nevertheless, it was a great introduction to Smashbox and I’d definitely go back to try another from them.

Was // $75

L’oreal True Match

I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to foundations and whilst I love me a l’oreal lipstick I would never have considered using their bases.

That was until I tried some of my mother’s L’oreal True Match. It had been recommended to her by a make up artist and I can see why. Using very little product at all it provides full, flawless coverage that is incredibly buildable. It feels like nothing and yet still has that little bit of dewyness that I love.

It photographs great (as seen in this post), it lasts all day even without a primer and ever since I started wearing it, the compliments on my daily make up have poured in.

RRP $40-45

I’m tempted to say that it negates any need to wear high-end foundation… but I would be lying if I didn’t acknowledge that sometimes owning an expensive foundation is half the joy.

What are your favourite foundations? Any you suggest I try? 

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Rotation… Bases

  1. Lena says:

    My favourite foundation is MAC Studio Sculpt – it’s so nice and dewy on my very dry skin. It’s about $70 in NZ but I bought it from the US for $30 which makes it more reasonably price. I’d like to have a cheaper foundation so I could spend more money on the ‘fun’ products but by getting it from overseas it’s about the same prices as Revlon or the like – YAY! Sometimes when you look at the cost per ml for more expensive brands they can be more similarly priced to ‘drigstore’ brands.

  2. amythlf says:

    I’m a big fan of the Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser. Decent coverage with SPF! I’ve also been using the MAC Lightful Ultracharge Foundation Compact.

I don't bite, comment here

