TAMAKI // WHY SHOULD I VOTE FOR YOU?

q5

In New Zealand it’s easy to get caught up with party politics and never really learn about the people standing in your own electorate. This election I’ve tried to give every candidate (in Auckland and Wellington) a voice by asking them 5 questions. Read more about the series here.

TAMAKI

 

Incumbent: Simon O’Connor // National

Standing in 2014:
Lisa Gibson | Mana
Mike Milne | Act
Danny Mountain | Conservative
Simon O’Connor | National
Dorthe Siggard | Green
Chao-Fu Wu | Labour

O'CONNOR

so

What do you think characterises the Tamaki Electorate?

Tamaki has a very high level of community spirit.  Residents are active and passionate volunteers who are very committed to making Tamaki a great place to live.

 What do you think the most important issue is for New Zealanders? Do you think this is the same for New Zealanders living in the Tamaki Electorate?

New Zealand needs a balanced, practical government.  We have come through a very difficult economic period, but the recovery is well underway.  It is important that we continue this recovery and not fall back in to the reckless spending habits that led to so much trouble in the past.  All New Zealanders will benefit from National’s sensible, steady policies.

What is your pet piece of policy? Why?

That is very hard for me to narrow down because I have a lot of interests in many different areas.  That said, I think it is vital that we reduce the violence in so many segments of our society.  I don’t think we should break violence down in to various categories but recognise that it needs to be stopped in all its forms.  This will have a far greater effect on the nation as a whole.

What will you do to improve the local Tamaki Community?

The most important part of any community is the people of which it is comprised.  I have been privileged over the past three years to be able to help many individuals with the problems they have faced.  I hope to be able to do this for a long time to come.  This is much more important than any amenity I could lobby to have built in Tamaki.  In the end, I will judge the value of my time as an MP by the number of people I have assisted in their daily lives.

Why should I vote for you? 

I’m less concerned about who people vote for and much more focussed on what party they vote for.  The National Party has governed New Zealand carefully for the past six years.  This moderate, common sense approach has improved the lives of people across the entire country.  The opposition is a fractured group of ideologues whose policies will inflict real harm on people in ever part of our society.  Given that contrast, I hope National will be returned to govern in the interests of all.

The candidates featured in this post are those who have responded. If you are a candidate in Rongotai and would still like to be included, it’s not too late. Flick me an email at madicattt@gmail.com and I will slip you in. 

About madicattt

Curator of The Things That Are Good. Sharing the things that stand out in the worlds of theatre, food, beauty and style.
This entry was posted in Why Should I Vote For You? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I don't bite, comment here

